February 18, 2024
Samajwadi Party Asserts Autonomy, Releases 16 Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections
Breaking News

Samajwadi Party Asserts Autonomy, Releases 16 Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections

Samajwadi Party Asserts Autonomy/ANI

Samajwadi Party Asserts Autonomy: Blow to INDIA Bloc as Samajwadi Party Takes Independent Stance

In a move that further weakened the Opposition’s INDIA bloc, the Samajwadi Party (SP) released a list of 16 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Despite ongoing seat-sharing discussions with the Congress, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav emphasized his party’s autonomy, stating that the SP would make decisions based on what it deems best, without requiring clearance from the Congress.

Congress Faces Rebuffs, SP Signals Independence

The Congress, seeking alliances, has faced setbacks with Mamata Banerjee in Bengal and AAP’s Bhagwant Mann in Punjab, while Nitish Kumar’s defection to ally with the BJP in Bihar dealt a blow to the broader Opposition. Last year, tensions surfaced within the INDIA bloc when the Congress’s local leaders in Madhya Pradesh refused to honor the central leadership’s agreement with Akhilesh Yadav for six seats. Yadav’s recent announcement of 16 candidates suggests the SP is charting an independent course.

Seat Offer and Autonomy in Uttar Pradesh

In Uttar Pradesh, where the SP has offered the Congress 11 seats, Akhilesh Yadav reiterated the party’s intent to take decisions independently within the alliance. The SP had demonstrated a cooperative gesture in 2019 by not contesting from Amethi and Rae Bareli, areas traditionally associated with the Congress. Dimple Yadav, the wife of Akhilesh Yadav, is among the candidates named, set to contest from the family bastion of Mainpuri.

VoM News is an online web portal in jammu Kashmir offers regional, National & global news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *